Absurd ranking system in ArcheryGB

olis

Supporter
Supporter
I am new to archery having taken up recurve as a middle-aged hobby two years ago. Right now I'm 'first class' hoping to get to bowman this season, although I have yet to shoot any bowmen scores.
The point I would like to make is that simply by turning up to a few shoots locally I will probably end the season ranked in the top 250 or so nationally. This is nonsensical.
Surely it would be better to have a best scores system (as they are now doing for barebow and longbow) plus rankings for the tier1/ tier2 H2H shoots?
Best score rankings have the huge advantage of actually being meaningful to any normal archer (the current ranking system does work at the pointy end i.e. demi-gods only). Also Imperial shoots would become more relevant. And you could easily extend it into the indoor season for year-round interest. And it would encourage more people to compete in the smaller under-subscribed comps.

bimble

Supporter
Fonz Awardee
Ironman
AIUK Saviour
They used to do 'best scores' but people complained that people could shoot well, but have a windy day and score less than someone shooting not so well, but with better weather. The current system takes weather out of the equation when comparing results from two shoots. The winner was almost certainly the best there, so they get the most ranking points. The fact that the people at the top now are basically the same people at the top before suggests that at least when it comes to working out the best, the two systems give similar answers.

Imperial shoots have not been part of the ranking system for... at least two decades.