Other Arm Movement

peter maddox

Hi all you (hopefully) advisors, I took up archery last June 2009, I am using A hoyt nexus with fastexact limbs @40lb, I work in construction and drawing the bow is no problem, my question is when I reach full draw ( I am 5' 10" drawing 28in) I find it difficult to hold the bow steady, it drifts everywhere, this is not too much of a problem indoors but I find that any consistency over 50M is out of the question, I have tried 36ib limbs, same problem, I have used this equipment for the last six months and my scores are retreating back to absolue beginner level, any tips on keeping my left arm still that doesn't include tying a broomstick to it?:

J

josh 77

Do you have any weights on the ends of the stabilisers? Also is the bow balanced well?

peter maddox

lads I am using a relaxed, bow in the V, grip, with a wrist sling I have a one ounce weight on the end of the long rod but no weights on the twins

JohnR

The American
Supporter
American Shoot
You can't hold the bow still with muscle strength, and the harder you try the more it will move. You can only have a stable bow with good body alignment - particularly, but not only, good shoulder alignment.

aquatoo

Dont grip the handle. Try to find the position where the bones of your arm are aligned. Put your hand in the standard bow grip position (knuckles at 45 degrees) and the with your arm out sideways lean against a wall. Now find the position that takes the least amount of effort to sustain. As long as you aren't making any muscular effort to stay in this position, this is the one you want.

The bow arm will wander to a degree as your natural body sway, pulse etc. all contribute to move it slightly, but the movement should not be great.

Hope this helps.

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
All arms move when aiming. Some more than others. How much does your arm move? For example, when you have the sight round the gold, how much does it move?(out into the red or blue??)