[American Flatbow] Flatbow Draw weight

kool4katz

Hi everybody

I have been shooting for 3 months now using recurve club kit and i am at the stage that i need to choose a bow.
However i am getting more and more interested in traditional archery and i quite fancy a quality AFB maybe leading onto a longbow.

My question is what is the best way to achieve the draw weight that i will stick with.

The route i was thinking of was to hire a stylist recurve which gives me up to a year to up my draw weight without paying out for limbs and then switch to AFB but even this route means i have to pay out ?150 ish at the outset.

Any thoughts please

Happy New Year :cheerful:

Seanmgn

First of all I have to point out that i'm very much a beginner myself.

What poundage bow do you currently shoot? I ask because I now shoot an AFB which is much heavier poundage than the recurve I started with, and because I hold it at full draw for a shorter time I don't find it a problem ( plus I was a bit underbowed to start with).

If you decide to stick with recurve for now then the advice I was given and which seemed very sound was to go for a decent riser and increase the limb weight as you need to. You may be able to re-sell the limbs to offset the cost.

Macbow