[American Flatbow] Info on pyramid bow

bowbrummel

Hi all, have been reading The Bowyer's Bible and am taking with the idea of building a pyramid bow using kiln dried hardwood. This is intended as a present for my GF and I need to build one with a 35# draw weight. Problem is, apart from the fact I've never built a bow before, I have no idea of the dimensions required to get a bow of this weight. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

D

Deleted member 7654

Not used kiln dried timber myself, but my advice is aim at making two, use the worst bit of timber first and just go for it, you will learn so much, you will then have a fighting chance with the second one.
Have you heard of the quality system "Right First Time"? well it's nonsense!
I have a system, WAQAP !
Wrong As Quick As Possible... ! It allows you to see and understand the problems and mistakes.
Two words of advice... don't narrow the handle early on, ant leave a little extra width at the tips. That will allow some adjustment of the string line, and the handle can be cut to agree with the string line when it's finished... rather than trying get the string line to match the centre line of the handle.
Most newbie bowyers start trying to make a 40# or 50# bow and end up with a 20# !
If you manage to make a shootable bow you've done well..
Del
PS Avoid the temptation to try and make it too short!

bowbrummel

Not used kiln dried timber myself, but my advice is aim at making two, use the worst bit of timber first and just go for it, you will learn so much, you will then have a fighting chance with the second one.
Have you heard of the quality system "Right First Time"? well it's nonsense!
I have a system, WAQAP !
Wrong As Quick As Possible... ! It allows you to see and understand the problems and mistakes.