No longer a second class archer

Berk

Since coming back to archery at the start of this year I started shooting proper rounds for the first time. I started with my recurve and worked my way from unclassified to 3rd to 2nd class. Then I had my head turned by the longbows on the line and bought my own at the end of August. I've been shooting most Sundays (despite most of the club moving indoors) and have been joining the other longbow archers in shooting Yorks, yesterday I got my third 1st class score!

I'm now a 1st class archer, next goal is Bowman. I'm thinking a more powerful bow will make it a bit easier aiming at 100 yards, no more drawing back, lining up the pile then tilting at the hips to aim the pile at the dark patch on the leylandii, no, not that one, the big patch there, that's it, now aim at the corner where it changes to that dark green, bah it went wide, aim one leaf over next time.

Onward and upwards.

Mistake

Ironman
Nice!

I couldn't imagine shooting >50m without a sight, so anyone who can do that is better than me

Corax67

Excellent achievement, very well done indeed.

You don't need a hugely powerful bow for 100yds, a lot of us in our club are shooting Gary Evans longbows (from Wales Archery) at around the 50# @ 28" mark and all six of us longbow archers are bowman, 2 of us in our first longbow season.

With mine I am point on the top of the boss at 100yds, centre of gold at 80yds and have rubber band sight marks down to 40yds which is as close as I dare go with this bow.

Karl

Berk

Thank you all.

Nice!

I couldn't imagine shooting >50m without a sight, so anyone who can do that is better than me
Like Raven's_Eye said, shooting it is easy, hitting is the hard part. Though it really depends on the bow, I'm point on the boss at 80m, making that the easiest distance for me to aim at, (but not necessarily the easiest to hit).

Excellent achievement, very well done indeed.