Reshaping a wooden riser

Witty_Banter

Hi all,

This may be the wrong sub-forum, apologies if it is (admins, feel free to move it to where it needs to be). I'm still getting the hang of where everything sits within the forum.

Anyway...I'm relatively new to archery, been shooting a few months. I'm not buying any fancy, expensive kit whilst I'm still finding my poundage 'sweet spot', so for the time being and foreseeable future I'm using a standard SF Optimo+ wooden riser and limbs. The SF Optimo riser is pretty basic and, to be honest, a bit boring. I'd already decided when I bought it that it will probably get a lick of paint, just to liven it up a little and distinguish it from my Club's learner kits.

However, if I'm going to paint it, I'd like to make a few alterations to the shape of the handle, to accommodate my small hands - and therein lies the question...

If I start standing away at the grip, am I going to reduce the structural integrity of the riser? I don't want to remove a lot of wood, I just want to shape the grip area (at the moment it's a little bulky) so that it fits the shape of my hand better. After that it's getting a coat of paint.

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
If you look at your riser, you will see that there is a " weakest spot" where the wood is cut away more deeply that anywhere else. It's the "Throat" of the grip.
Most of my bows have had wooden grips even if the riser was metal, and I have re -shaped all of them to get a fit that I like. In every case, most of the wood I removed was from parts that were already much stronger than that weakest spot.
If you look at the riser from the direction you view from when shooting, most of the wood you remove will make it narrower as you look at it. Most of the wood will be from the parts below that throat section, so you aren't weakening it at its weakest spot.