Which wood available in the UK would make a good bow?

osprey

Hi All

Many commercially produced bows are made out of exotic hardwood which is hard to come by, and very expensive.
So I was wondering. Which wood available in the UK would make a good bow?

Looking at UK timber suppliers the wood available tends to be the list below. Which of these would make good Back/middle/Belly wood for a bow?

Alder
Ash
Beech
Birch
Spalted Beech
Cedar of Lebanon
Cherry
Elm
Larch
Lime
Oak (British)
Brown Oak
Red Oak
Holm Oak
Pippy Oak
Burr Oak
Sweet Chestnut
Sycamore
Walnut

Sapele
Iroko
Dark red meranti
Idigbo
Southern yellow pine
Keruing

I must admit there are a few woods I've never even heard of (but then I'm no expert on wood)

Any help gratefully received

Regards
Osprey

D

Deleted member 7654

Yew, Elm, Sycamore, Ash, Maple, Hazel, Birch, Elder, Holly, Plum
All those will make a good self bow, some are better suited to a wide limbed primitive style.
I don't see much point in tri-lam bows, a slf bow or a simple backed bow is fine.
Some of the best/well proven combinations are Bamboo backed Yew, Bamboo backed Ipe, Ash backed Yew, Hickory backed Yew, Hickory backed Lemonwood.
Del

osprey

If your interested, I was given an explanation demo of the benefits of triple laminated.

The demo went as follows
A small stick of Lemonwood was bent. It gave no warning just suddenly snapped.
A similar small stick of Hickory was bent. It creaked and groaned but did not snap until it was almost a full circle.

These two woods are obvious choices for the belly and back respectively.
Lemonwood is lovely to work with, has few imperfections and can be shaped as required.
Hickory is great at resisting breaking when being bent, but is nowhere near as nice to work with as Lemonwood.

Purpleheart was used in the middle. It has properties somewhere between the two above, but its main purpose is "to make the bow look beautiful" which it does. Greenheart etc can be used for this same purpose.