Sighting using a tradtional bow

Matt_Weston

Hi,

I have been shooting with an American Flat Bow for the past 3 months having completed a beginner's course. My bow is rated 34lb at 29 inches which is perfect for me as I can hold at full draw without too much effort which allows me to get an aim. As I have gone up in distance from 20, 30, 40 and 50 yards I have been picking sight points from the arrow tip. Now as I try the 60 yard distance I need to sight off the top of my knuckle to the top of the boss! I obviously need to sight off some other relative sight mark as my fist is obscuring the view of the boss completely. It seems a bit alien as you are totally blind.

Any advise welcome.

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
Have you tried with both eyes open? It gives a view "through" your bow hand so you could possibly get a lower knuckle to line up with some part of the target.

Matt_Weston

Thanks for the information. The link to the other thread had given me lots to consider. I knew I could not be the first.

Some one in the office wondered why I was holding out my left arm and closing my eyes in turn! (ps. I am in the French office this week so felt it best not to explain !!)

Matt

Last edited:

Riceburner

Thanks for the information. The link to the other thread had given me lots to consider. I knew I could not be the first.

Some one in the office wondered why I was holding out my left arm and closing my eyes in turn! (ps. I am in the French office this week so felt it best not to explain !!)

Matt
don't worry about upsetting the french sensibilities.... I'm sure they wouldn't mind upsetting ours... ;)

Matt_Weston

I tried using the wrong eye tonight. In theory it should work. In practice it does work, but it feels so wrong. I am not sure that I will continue down this route.

I may try going from 3 fingers under to 1 or 2 over. The guys shooting tonight reckon that this should be OK in competition so long as I do not move my anchor point. Is this correct?