Archery weight training

hi all,

i have been shooting compound for about 3 months now, and am putting serious practice in with ever increasing results.

i have started doing pushups every day as my coach instructed, and am shooting a couple of 100 arrows a week. i think this is helping core strength already, but time will truly tell.

the problem i seem to be having, is holding the bow up for any length of time, steady.

i know it is supposed to be more about the back half, and i know the sight is supposed to float a little, but i wana really be able to hold the bow with a relaxed arm throughout long days of shooting, consistantly.

what decent and easy training can i do with regards to strenthening my front arm, (without making it too large) that could be done without the need of going to a gym preferably? + is it the triceps that is the primary holder?

Adam

Draw length, mass weight and stabilization has as much to do with a steady aim as does strength. Try playing around with these items before you worry about changing your physique.

Adam

have set draw correctly to 28", i got the bow to keep mass weight down, and have tried just about every possible stab setup i can think of, i am steady for 7 or so douzen, but the other day when shooting a fita, i saw a difference in steadyness after about 7 douzen, this is when my sight was floating more in the red zone, rather than gold where it was previously at 90/70.

Hidden Hippo

I only started shooting compound around 3 months ago, but I found that simply shooting was the best possible exercise. I've gone from being able to hold relatively steady for a FITA 18 over the winter to being steady for the duration of a York last sunday. One thing I find is that I tire much more quickly in practice, purely because I'm shooting much faster than in competition.