Is there any point ???

towser

I have been shooting for about 2 years. I have a fairly decent kit, but I don't seem to be getting any better. I practice 3 to 4 times a week, my coach gives me all the help I need. But each time I shoot I seem to have "picked" up another bad habit.

Is there any point ???

phillc

keep going

Not knowing what level you are at I can't say to much but have a chat with your coach, and see what they think is the thing is that is holding you back the most and work through that first (perhaps you are putting yourself under too much pressure). It sounds like you have a helpful coach so keep at it.

niceguy

Sounds like you are on the plateau that most archers reach after a couple of years. It's the law of diminishing returns, at first a new archer will make big jumps forward but it tails off and eventually even small improvements require a large input. IMO if you don't just enjoy shooting arrows irrespective of the achievement level you will eventually reach a point where you feel there is no point in continuing as you aren't getting any better. Everone reaches their achievement threshold sooner or later. It happened to me a few years ago, my solution was try other types of shooting, compound and longbow. Without this change I would have abandonded the sport completely. There is also field and 3D to have a go at. All these help to keep the interest level up and when the compound and longbow wear off I'll go back to recurve again or maybe bare bow. Endless options to keep my archery alive. Hope this helps.

Murray

Ironman
American Shoot
AIUK Saviour
It may be that you need a different coach to take you to the next level, or a different challenge, or just simply wait for that Eureka moment which helps kickstart your progress.

Unfortunately Archery, like any sport, is full of troughs as well as peaks and plateaus.